Modern Medicine

Test results

Friday, 28 August 2015 Current Issue By Dr. Iain Corness
This morning I bumped into a delightful chap in the foyer of my hospital. He started to tell me about his blood test results and was slightly perplexed when I…
Friday August 21 - August 27, 2015 (Vol. XXIII No. 34)

Smoking in cars? Another risk factor?

Friday, 21 August 2015 Issue Vol. XXIII No. 34 By Dr. Iain Corness
I do not like riding in cars where the driver smokes. The smell permeates everything including the roof lining, and the hot embers burn holes in the upholstery. But those…
Friday August 14 - August 20, 2015 (Vol. XXIII No. 33)

Have your discs slipped lately?

Friday, 14 August 2015 Issue Vol. XXIII No. 33 By Dr. Iain Corness
Back pain is one of the commonest orthopedic problems, and the often used terms such as lumbago, sciatica and slipped disc get bandied about at the dinner table. However, an…
Friday August 7 - August 13, 2015 (Vol. XXIII No. 32)

The killer in your top pocket

Friday, 07 August 2015 Issue Vol. XXIII No. 32 By Dr. Iain Corness
Let’s begin this week with a quote from the New American Standard Bible: “Seek, and you will find” (Matthew 7:7). So just what made me consult a bible? It was…
Friday July 31 - August 6, 2015 (Vol. XXIII No. 31)

“Sugar” in the (medical) news again

Friday, 31 July 2015 Issue Vol. XXIII No. 31 By Dr. Iain Corness
Diabetes (“sugar”) is in the news again, but it isn’t “good” news. There are 60 million people living in the UK (I’d probably say ‘surviving’ in the UK is more…
Friday July 24 - July 30, 2015 (Vol. XXIII No. 30)

This time it’s for the menfolk

Friday, 24 July 2015 Issue Vol. XXIII No. 30 By Dr. Iain Corness
Women are wonderful creatures, with their own special problems and clinics just for the ladies, and heaven help any man who dares enter! In fact, if you are a man,…
Friday July 17 - July 23, 2015 (Vol. XXIII No. 29)

Is working under pressure important?

Friday, 17 July 2015 Issue Vol. XXIII No. 29 By Dr. Iain Corness
I had my annual medical the other day, and I was rushed for time. After the blood was taken I was presented with the small bottle to take to the…
Friday July 10 - July 16, 2015 (Vol. XXIII No. 28)

Being prepared

Friday, 10 July 2015 Issue Vol. XXIII No. 28 By Dr. Iain Corness
I have it on good authority that unfortunately, the evidence would appear very strong, that we are all going to die. That’s you, Auntie Annie and even me. OK, that…
Friday July 3 - July 9, 2015 (Vol. XXIII No. 27)

La Maladie des griffes du chat

Friday, 03 July 2015 Issue Vol. XXIII No. 27 By Dr. Iain Corness
Have you ever stopped to wonder why there are so many difficulties put in your way if you wish to import your pet cat? Well, one of the difficulties relates…
Friday June 26 - July 2, 2015 (Vol. XXIII No. 26)

Are you next for a stroke?

Friday, 26 June 2015 Issue Vol. XXIII No. 26 By Dr. Iain Corness
Just about everyone knows of someone who has had a stroke. It is also a very common condition and one of the major causes of death and disability. It can…
Friday June 19 - June 25, 2015 (Vol. XXIII No. 25)

Dengue Fever - worse than MERS or SARS?

Friday, 19 June 2015 Issue Vol. XXIII No. 25 By Dr. Iain Corness
Dengue has become endemic throughout the world. There are 2.5 billion people living in Dengue endemic areas, and Thailand is just one of them. Dengue is endemic in at least…
Friday June 12 - June 18, 2015 (Vol. XXIII No. 24)

Coincidence? Or just a fluke?

Friday, 12 June 2015 Issue Vol. XXIII No. 24 By Dr. Iain Corness
There are very many good reasons for westerners to wish to live in Thailand. Warm weather, cold beer, warm women and cold beer. That will do for a start. However,…
Friday June 5 - June 11, 2015 (Vol. XXIII No. 23)

Should you take out insurance?

Friday, 05 June 2015 Issue Vol. XXIII No. 23 By Dr. Iain Corness
Insurance is such a thorny question these days that my hospital even has a department just to help you with advice on your insurance problems. Unfortunately, for the vast majority…
Friday May 29 - June 4, 2015 (Vol. XXIII No. 22)

Ouch! That hurts!

Friday, 29 May 2015 Issue Vol. XXIII No. 22 By Dr. Iain Corness
There is an old orthopedic surgeon’s joke about the painful Go-Go dancer’s knee, which goes, “What’s a nice joint like you doing in a girl like this?” However, our joints…
Friday May 22 - May 28, 2015 (Vol. XXIII No. 21)

Psst! Want some cheap blue diamonds?

Friday, 22 May 2015 Issue Vol. XXIII No. 21 By Dr. Iain Corness
There has been much finger pointing at private hospitals in the past couple of weeks regarding pharmacy prices, from people who, quite frankly, do not take a wide enough view.…
Friday May 15 - May 21, 2015 (Vol. XXIII No. 20)
This week’s column is aimed at parents, and in particular parents who smoke. In the research by the Royal College of Pediatrics and Child Health, where their president Dr Hilary…
Friday May 8 - May 14, 2015 (Vol. XXIII No. 19)

Living longer by living well

Friday, 08 May 2015 Issue Vol. XXIII No. 19 By Dr. Iain Corness
There are no secrets to long life, and I can help you live longer - but there are some secrets to getting the Quality of Life. Long life without having…
Friday May 1 - May 7, 2015 (Vol. XXIII No. 18)

Take this tablet three times a day

Friday, 01 May 2015 Issue Vol. XXIII No. 18 By Dr. Iain Corness
I received notice the other day that they have found a cure for Alzheimer’s Disease. But reading further, they haven’t! However I’ll tell you more about that next week. Read…
Friday April 24 - April 30, 2015 (Vol. XXIII No. 17)

Bargains in medication?

Friday, 24 April 2015 Issue Vol. XXIII No. 17 By Dr. Iain Corness
How many pharmacies in your street? I can count five over 500 meters. This must mean we are all very sick and needing constant medication - or, like beauty salons…
Friday April 17 - April 23, 2015 (Vol. XXIII No. 16)

Mammograms and BSE. Worthwhile?

Friday, 17 April 2015 Issue Vol. XXIII No. 16 By Dr. Iain Corness
The opening of our new Breast Center the other day made me think once more about breast cancer. Screening for breast cancer is still a subject that seems to be…
«StartPrev12345678910NextEnd»
Page 1 of 13