Nakhon Si Thammarat declares 7 districts flood disaster zones


NAKHON SI THAMMARAT, 10 November 2014 – Seven flood-affected districts of Nakhon Si Thammarat province have been declared disaster areas while help is being expedited for the local residents.

According to Governor of Nakhon Si Thammarat Peerasak Hinmuangkao, authorities have been sent into areas ravaged by incessant heavy rains and a number of residents were found to be suffering in the aftermath. Therefore, the province has decided to impose flood emergency in those troubled areas, consisting of Phipun, Chang Klang, Chawang, Lan Saka, Pak Phanang, Phra Phrom and Mueang districts.

The report suggested that more than 14,000 people or 5,000 households in 140 villages have been affected by the disaster. Urgent assistance is being given to them following the emergency declaration. Moreover, extensive damages have been incurred on homes, roads, bridges, temples, schools and farmland. Damage assessment is still underway in some areas.

However, the overall situation has improved markedly, with inundation remaining only in some spots. If there is no more rainfall during the next couple of days, normalcy is expected to return to the province soon.