6 provinces remain disaster zones


BANGKOK, 19 June 2011 -The Department of Disaster Prevention and Mitigation has disclosed that 6 provinces mostly in the North Eastern region remain disaster zones while the water has now subsided in Trat and Chanthaburi provinces. 

Over 400 communities in Bueng Kan, Amnat Charoen, Nakhon Ratchasima, Buriram, Yasothon and Prachuap Khiri Khan provinces have been severely affected by drought and that the situation seems to show no sign of abating.

Meanwhile, the water level has subsided in the two previously heavily flooded areas: Bo Phloi and Nonsi since last Friday. The local authority and related agencies have gathered help for farmers in Chanthaburi province where 600 rai of land have been submerged and crops have been damaged.