46 countries, territories issue warnings for Bangkok


BANGKOK, Jan 15 – Forty six out of 68 embassies and consulates in the Thai capital have advised their nationals, especially those in Bangkok, to avoid staying near demonstration sites, and ensuring that they follow up updates about the shutdown.

The Ministry of Tourism and Sport announced Wednesday that 46 countries and territories have so far issued travel warnings to their citizens including the US, Canada, Mexico, Brazil, the Great Britain, Ireland, France, Sweden, Germany, Austria, Spain, Greece, Portugal, Belgium, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Denmark, Norway, Romania, Finland, Hungary, Italy, Switzerland, Slovak, Russia, Kazakhstan, Poland, Czech, Turkey, Israel, the UAE, Kuwait,  Oman, Saudi Arabia, Japan, China, Taiwan, Hong Kong, South Korea, India, Australia, New Zealand, Indonesia, Malaysia, Singapore and the Philippines.

Many embassies have continued to update their warnings in following up the People’s Democratic Reform Committee’s plan to rally at major intersections in Bangkok until the end of the week to pressure the caretaker government to step down. Citizens of the 46 mentioned countries and territories have been asked to avoid the rally sites as it can escalate into violence and that they should allow extra time to travel to the airport.

Meanwhile, East Asian countries and territories, especially China, have asked their citizens, especially those living in Bangkok, to closely monitor the situations and to avoid protest sites. Hong Kong still maintains red travel alert raised earlier in the Thai capital.

Taiwanese and Filipinos have been advised not to wear red or yellow for their own safety.