Lampang declares seven districts flood disaster zones


LAMPANG, Sept 9 – Thailand’s northern province of Lampang declared seven districts disaster zones from flashfloods on Sunday.

Lampang governor Tawatchai Terdpaothai announced disaster zones covering 81 sub-districts in the provincial seat, Mae Mo, Mae Tha, Mueang Pan, Wang Nuea, Ngao, and Chae Hom districts.

Over 15,000 residents of more than 6,000 households were affected by last week’s natural disasters. Another 150 households and one school were impacted by flash floods on Saturday.

The two incidents are considered the most serious of the year, covering almost the entire province, and causing damage of at least Bt30 million.