Government to strengthen SME operators in 12 Special Economic Zones


BANGKOK- The Department of Industrial Promotion has unveiled its plan to strengthen Small and Medium Enterprises (SMEs) in 12 Special Economic Zones across 10 provinces. 

The plan, which is being supervised by the Network of Engineering Service, would encourage SME operators take advantage of the Special Economic Zones and the ASEAN Eeconomic Community. The campaign seeks to enhance the competitiveness of SME businesses by strengthening SME operators, business structure, and personnel, while connenting SMEs of the same type but on a larger scale, both domestically and internationally.

The government’s Special Economic Zone project aims at promoting border trade, while escalating border provinces’s potentials as economic zones, transport hub, and logistic hub. Each economic zone would employ a large number of migrant labor and possess regional tourism services, reaping the full benefit from the establishment of the ASEAN Community.

Currently there are 12 Special Economic Zones located in 10 provinces of the Kingdom, which include Tak, Mukdahan, Sa Kaeo, Trat, Songkhla, Chiang Rai, Nong Khai, Nakhon Phanom, Narathiwat, and Kanchanaburi. In 2014, the total value of border trade through these provinces reached 968 billion baht, which accounted for 98% of Thailand’s border trade.

Interested SME operators can join the campaign free of charge before the January 27th deadline. For more information, please visit