DDPM: 9 provinces remain inundated


BANGKOK, 15 August 2011 – The Department of Disaster Prevention and Mitigation (DDPM) has concluded that nine provinces remain inundated following tropical storm Nock Ten while floods in 14 other provinces have already relieved. 

According to DDPM Viboon Sanguanpong, there are a total of 23 provinces hit by the tropical storm and declared disaster zones, comprising 12,517 villages in 1,519 sub-districts and 222 districts. The floods that followed have affected 2,630,201 people in 681,810 households.

In addition, 323 houses have been partially damaged. Based on the estimation, 1,826,053 rai of farmland and 4,916 roads are inundated. There were 24 people killed by the disaster and one person was reported missing.

The nine provinces still inundated include Sukhothai, Phrae, Uttaradit, Phichit, Phitsanulok, Nakhon Sawan, Phra Nakhon Si Ayutthaya, Mukdahan and Ubon Ratchathani. There are 285,654 people in 82,318 households and 1,921 villages affected by the persisting flood.

Meanwhile, rehabilitations begin 14 provinces, including Nan, Lamphun, Lampang, Chiang Mai, Mae Hong Son, Tak, Phetchabun, Loei, Nong Khai, Nakhon Phanom, Udon Thani, Bueng Kan, Sakon Nakhon and Prachuap Khiri Khan.