Reception celebrating the establishment of the ASEAN Community


BANGKOK- Minister of Foreign Affairs Don Pramudwinai on Tuesday presided over the reception ceremony to celebrate the establishment of the ASEAN Community which is due to take effect on 31 December 2015. 

The reception, which took place at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, was attended by approximately 300 guests, comprising of diplomatic corps, representatives of the public and private sectors, as well as members of the media.

The reception ceremony not only marked the celebration of a historical milestone for the region, but was also an opportunity to enhance the relations and networks among various agencies related to driving the ASEAN Community forward.

The ASEAN Community will be officially established on 31 December 2015 with the three main pillars, namely the ASEAN Political-Security Community, the ASEAN Economic Community, and the ASEAN Socio-Cultural Community. The common vision of ASEAN leaders is to create a community which has competitive advantage, clear rules and regulations, inclusive participation, and people-centered development. The ASEAN Community strives to work to integrate all aspects, including political, security, economic, social and cultural dimensions as well as connectivity within and outside the region.