DDPM warns 18 provinces of thunderstorms


BANGKOK, 3 May 2011  – The Department of Disaster Prevention and Mitigation (DDPM) has warned 18 provinces in the northern, central, and southern provinces of the kingdom of thunderstorms during 3-4 May 2011. 

According to DDPM Director-General Viboon Sanguanpong, 18 provinces expected to be battered include Mae Hong Son, Chiang Mai, Lampang, Lamphun, Chiang Rai, Phayao, Nan, Phrae, Tak, Sukhothai, Phitsanulok, Phetchabun, Uttaradit, Ranong, Phang Nga, Phuket, Krabi and Trang.

The thunderstorms may cause flash flood, strong winds, and landslides in the aforementioned areas. Therefore, all villagers should carefully check building structures in order to make sure that they are in good condition and strong enough to withstand the forces of the storms.

Moreover, residents are advised to pay attention to their agricultural produce, which might get affected from the gust, as well as observe any unusual signals, such as the change in the color of the water, sudden panic of wildlife and others.

Mr Viboon added that officials of the provincial DDPM offices have been dispatched to monitor situations very closely.