DDPM: Droughts ease up in 8 provinces


BANGKOK, 30 May 2012 – The Department of Disaster Prevention and Mitigation (DDPM) reports that droughts have ended in 8 provinces while 43 other provinces remain on the drought-affected list. 

According to the DDPM, 8 provinces, namely Phrae, Lamphun, Uttaradit, Yasothon, Chanthaburi, Si Sa Ket, Trat and Phuket, are no longer suffering from drought conditions.

However, there are currently 43 provinces, 440 districts, 2,993 sub-districts, and 32,360 villages where drought emergencies are ongoing. A total of 2.89 million households, comprising over 10 million people, are currently affected by droughts. 943,089 Rai of agricultural land has been damaged.

Droughts are especially severe in 26 provinces, consisting of Prachuap Khiri Khan, Sukhothai, Surin, Udon Thani, Kalasin, Nan, Khon Kaen, Buri Ram, Nong Bua Lam Phu, Bueng Kan, Phayao, Uthai Thani, Ubon Ratchathani, Tak, Chaiyaphum, Amnat Charoen, Chiang Rai, Nakhon Ratchasima, Kamphaeng Phet, Mukdahan, Nakhon Phanom, Maha Sarakham, Lampang, Nong Khai, Phitsanulok and Sakon Nakhon. There are 9 other provinces with moderate drought situations, and 8 provinces with mild drought situations.

The DDPM has been providing aid to local residents. 110 water trucks have been used to distribute nearly 1.3 million liters of water for agriculture while another 471 water trucks have distributed over 55 million liters of water for consumption.