Floods recede in 10 southern provinces, while 6 others in North face temperature drop


BANGKOK, 15 December 2013, The Department of Disaster Prevention and Mitigation (DDPM) has announced improvement of flood situation in 10 Southern provinces, whereas 6 northern provinces have been declared disaster zones due to drops in temperature. 

The ongoing heavy rain has continued to batter the South since November 21, causing flash floods and river bursting its banks in 12 provinces. Twenty deaths have been reported so far, with the highest number of 6 deaths reported in Nakhon Si Thammarat province.

Currently, flooding situation in 10 provinces in the South has eased, with the other 2 provinces of Phutthalung and Trang still being under inundation. More than 6,000 people have been affected by the ongoing floods.

Up North, 6 provinces have seen continuous drop in the mercury since December 6. These provinces are Loei, Tak, Nan, Chiang Mai, Nakhon Phanom, and Nong Bua Lamphu, with over 1.3 million people under cold spell.

The DDPM has ordered local authorities to prepare for severe temperature drop as well as to prevent local residents from gusting wind during this time of year.