Bowornsak Uwanno to chair Constitution Drafting Committee


BANGKOK, Nov 4 — Thailand’s National Council for Peace and Order (NCPO) has chosen Bowornsak Uwanno, secretary-general of King Prajadhipok’s Institute as chairman of the Constitution Drafting Committee (CDC), said army spokesman Winthai Suvaree.

The army spokesman said at today’s joint cabinet and NCPO meeting, both agreed to nominate their quota of 11 representatives to join the 36-member drafting committee which is being formed.

The NCPO appointed Borwornsak as chairman of the CDC and five other members nominated by the NCPO are Sujit Boonbongkan, former constitution court judge, Charoon Inthajarn, President of the Constitution Court, Prasopsuk Boondej former Senate Speaker, Banjerd Singkhaneti, former dean of the Graduate School of Law at the National Institute of Development Administration (NIDA) and Krit Kraichitti, former director-general of the Department of Treaties and Legal Affairs.

Col Winthai said the NCPO has thoroughly considered until it reached the agreement to nominate them and it is confident they will be accepted by all parties.

Meanwhile, Gen Prayuth Chan-o cha, prime minister and NCPO head said each member is competent and specialized in legal affairs.

The charter drafting aims to reduce conflict and pave the way for good governance and public participation. He asked the public not to criticize the chosen members in negative way.

The 36-member body includes 20 members selected by the National Reform Council. The National Legislative Assembly nominated five others, the same quota as the cabinet, while the NCPO selected five members as well as the CDC chairman.