ASEAN celebrates its 45th year anniversary


BANGKOK, 9 August 2012  – The Foreign Affairs Ministry has held a celebration to mark the 45th year anniversary of the Association of South East Asian Nations (ASEAN) on Wednesday. 

Officials from the Foreign Affairs Ministry, Thai ambassadors in ASEAN countries, and student representatives from over 70 schools participated during the celebration.

The Bangkok Declaration established the ASEAN on 8 August 1967, which then comprised five countries: Indonesia, Malaysia, the Philippines, Singapore, and Thailand.

According to Foreign Minister Surapong Tovichakchaikul, the association at present consists of 10 nations and cooperation has been extended in many dimensions, including political, security, economic, and cultural. He added that peoples’ connectivity is a vital element to push the region forwards.

Mr Surapong also urged education institutions to place an emphasis on English and neighboring languages to prepare Thais for the ASEAN Community. On this occasion, the Foreign Minister presented study tools concerning ASEAN to student representatives. A quiz on the ASEAN was also held to find winners to go on a field trip to the ASEAN Secretariat Office in Jakarta, Indonesia.