‘Yutakarnnava’ team wins Pattaya long boat title


Thailand’s oarsmen proved dominant at the 12th Pattaya Traditional Long Boat Tournament held at Mabprachan Lake over the weekend 17-18 November.  Some 28 boats participated in this year’s event with teams from as far afield as Indonesia, Malaysia, Myamar, Cambodia, Macau and Laos all flying in to take part.

A family atmosphere was promoted by the organizers with no alcohol on sale to spectators at the race venue; however while spectators may have been dry on the inside this certainly wasn’t the case on the outside as the event was marred by driving rain that persisted all weekend.

The longboats had to battle tough conditions on finals day. The longboats had to battle tough conditions on finals day.

Out on the lake, the boats were tossed about in the squall like conditions and some even overturned, but it didn’t stop the races from going ahead and all the participating teams were given great support by the enthusiastic crowd.

In the blue ribbon race – the large boat (55 oars) category – the winner was the Yutakarnnava boat of Sattahip navy, winning the HRH Princess Sirindhorn Cup along with 100,000 baht in prize money.  They were followed across the line by the Tapfahthanarat boat from Pitsanulok.

The large boat B race was sewn up by teams from the Isaan region with Saosuay Supapron from Roi-ed crossing the tape first ahead of Jao Khunnen from Nakhon Pathom.

The Tepprathanporn squad, also from Nakhon Pathom, took out the smaller boat (30 oars) category A race to capture the HRH Princess Somsawali Cup and 50,000 baht while Sao Muangphet from Phetburi filled the second step on the podium.

The B race was won by the Jaomae Luangjan boat from Chanthaburi who collected a 10,000 baht cash prize.

Thailand occupied the top two places in the International race, first place and 50,000 baht going to the Thai A squad while their understudies in the B team followed close behind.  Third and fourth places went to Cambodia and Laos respectively.