Gabe tames the greens at Pattavia

From left, Andre Van Dyk, Brian Gabe and Torsten Bischoff.
From left, Andre Van Dyk, Brian Gabe and Torsten Bischoff.

PSC Golf from Tropical Golf Group

Tuesday, Jan. 16, Greenwood – Stableford

Eight groups today at a course we have been to many times the A and C nines provided the challenge.  The fairways were well grassed and the greens in good condition but they were a little on the slow side.

Round over it was back to Pattaya and the home base, BJ’s Holiday Lodge, and nearly straight into the presentation.  In the A Flight (0 to 18), the winner was Mashi Kaneta with 38 points on count-back over Steve Truelove in second.  In third was Brian Parish with 36 points and in fourth was Andre Van Dyk with 35.

Paul Weatherly was the winner in the B Flight (19 to 25) with 37 points, one ahead of Dick Warberg in second on 36.  In third was Graham Buckingham with 35 points on count-back ahead of Joe Sparwith in fourth.

In the C Flight (26+), the winner was Derek Brook with 37 points ahead of Don Carmody with 36.  In third was Torsten Bischoff with 35 points on count-back over Kenny Chung in fourth.

For non-winners, the best front nine was won with 19 points by Brian Gabe and the back nine by Dave Cooper with 18 points.

Then it was time to say well done to Barry Elphick, and enjoy the cold beer he bought all the players after his second hole in one.

Friday, Jan. 19, Pattavia – Stableford

It is the busy season for sure, and thirty three golfers signed up at Tropical Golf to brave the greens at Pattavia, which was in good condition as usual.

Things moved slow but steady and considering the number of golfers on the course it could have been much worse.  Pattavia is a pretty straight forward layout, but a few holes are downright tricky.  And those greens!  No other course has people coming off the green happy with a 3-putt.

Andre Van Dyk (c/h 17) returned to Pattavia and won A-Flight (0-19) with a fine 36 points.  John Davis (14) followed with 35 and Mashi Kaneta (18) edged out Walter Baechli (19) on count-back at the 34 point mark.

Brian Gabe (22) had the best score of the day with 37 points to win the B-Flight (20-25).  Next came Graham Buckingham (21) who won on count-back over Jim Ferris (25), and Brad Robbins (21), all finishing with 34 points.

Torsten Bischoff (28) continued his good form with 36 points in C-Flight (26+), edging out Jo Sparwirth (28) on count-back.  Then Karen Brown (40) and Don Carmody (31) tied at 33 points with the nod going to Karen.

Paul Weatherley and Michel Beat won the best non-winning, 9-hole scores. Never give up!