A clean sweep for the PGS


The IPGC Monthly Members’ Tournament

Wednesday, Feb. 2, Treasure Hill – Stroke & Stableford

The first Wednesday in February saw a large field of IPGC members gather at Treasure Hill for the second IPGC Members’ Tournament of the year.  The course is probably the most well presented in the province at the moment and the addition of many new palm trees and ornamental bushes will make the course easier on the eyes, though even tougher in the mind.

With caddies a-plenty and the white tees being used by the top flight and yellows for the rest, the prospect of some challenging golf lay in store as the eighty golfers started on time on an otherwise empty course.

Winners at Treasure Hill: Alan Griffiths (2nd Div), Howard Jeglum (3rd Div) & Masanori Takano (1st Div). Winners at Treasure Hill: Alan Griffiths (2nd Div), Howard Jeglum (3rd Div) & Masanori Takano (1st Div).

Each monthly member’s tournament provides three winners in the divisions and one from the ladies, who will go forward to the finals to compete for the Gold and Silver Medals later in the season.  In addition the tournaments will also be used to determine the IPGC Gentleman Player of the Year, with between 1 and 15 points to be won in each division every month, dependant on final positions, which will then be aggregated for the year to establish the overall winner.

As usual the first division contests a stroke play format whilst the second, third and Ladies’ division play Stableford.

In the first division the contest threw up a rare result as regulars from one member group, the PGS in Soi Buakhao, filled all three top places.  Rick Schramm took third place with a fine net 75, a few shots behind Ray Banks in second on net 72 and Masanori Takano drew deeply on his course management skills to post an excellent net 71 for the win.

The second division also saw a close contest and the intervention of the recorder’s ubiquitous abacus separated the two golfers on 37 points contesting second place, with Ted Lodge emerging as runner-up, his back nine total of 20 points taking advantage of Vic Hansen’s lapses in a back nine of 17 points.  Winning the flight was Alan Griffiths whose 39 points emerged as the best points score of the day.

The third division was again closely fought at the top with Paul Chabot in third place with 33 points, John Williams in second with 36 points and Howard Jeglum winning the flight with 37 points.

The Ladies’ winner was Tuijal Taari on 21 points taking a count-back advantage over Orawan Meeraka with a back nine score of 13 points to Khun Orawan’s 10.

In the ‘2’s competitions there were thirteen birdies, including a brace for Alan Hanlon, an amazing effort on the quick and tricky greens and the winners and the successful near pin golfers are listed below.

After the tournament there was an excellent presentation buffet at Rabbi’s Elephant Bar in Soi Buakhao.  The function and prizes were sponsored as always by the IPGC, and the PGS coordinator, Mr Len warmly thanked all those who had worked hard once again to ensure the success of the competition, especially registrar Glyn Evans, results coordinator Stephen Beard and the hard working event organiser Russell Exley, for whom the day had been a resounding success.

Division 1

1st Masanori Takano net 71

2nd Ray Banks net 72

3rd Rick Schramm net 75

Division 2

1st Alan Griffiths 39pts

2nd Ted Lodge 37pts

3rd Vic Hansen 37pts

Division 3

1st Howard Jeglum 37pts

2nd John Williams 36pts

3rd Paul Chabot 33pts


1st Tuijal Taari 21pts

2nd Orawan Meeraka 21pts

2’s: (Div. 1) Masanori Takano, Rob Lamond, Dave Stockman, Frank Harrington & Ian Bakewell; (Div. 2) Allan Hanlon (two), Erik Lont, Dave Lehane & Jorma Taari; (Div. 3) Derek Holt, John Mason & Jack Robertson.

Near Pins:  Hole 2 – Paul Smith, Allan Hanlon, Hole 6 – Rob Lamond, Erik Lont, John Williams, Hole 13 – Dave Stockman, Kevin Townsend, John Mason, Hole 17 – Yasuo Suzuki, Allan Hanlon, Rod Howett.