Retirement plan for F1 pensioners?


Former World Champion Jacques Villeneuve, plus Tonio Liuzzi, Giancarlo Fisichella, Heinz-Harald Frentzen, Mika Salo, Sakon Yamamoto, Alex Yoong and Neel Jani and Indycar’s Pippa Mann have all signed up for the inaugural i1 Super Series in India.

They will be competing for $2 million prize money and they will race Radical Sportscars’ SR3 roadster, which is designed to touch speeds of 250 kph and accelerate from 0-100 kph in three seconds.

The i1 Super Series consists of 10 races over five weekends with the opener taking place at the Sepang International Circuit in Malaysia on January 22.  That will be followed by races in Bahrain (Feb 4), Qatar (Feb 11), Delhi (Feb 26) and Abu Dhabi (March 10).

SR3 mobility scooter. SR3 mobility scooter.

The i1, which also known as the Indian Racing League, is based on the successful Indian Premier League and is sanctioned by the FIA.

The new series was launched at the Yas Marina Circuit in Abu Dhabi in December and nine city-based franchise teams – Bangalore, Chennai, Delhi, Mumbai, Hyderabad, Chandigarh, Pune, Kolkata, Goa – will take part and teams have one international and one Indian driver.