Prime Minister, 9 ministers survive censure debate


BANGKOK, 19 March 2011 (NNT) – Prime Minister Abhisit Vejjajiva and all nine cabinet ministers have received votes of confidence from the House of Representatives after the four-day censure debate. 

House Speaker Chai Chidchob chaired the voting session this morning at 9.00 hrs following the opposition’s no-confidence debate against the Prime Minister and nine individual ministers during 15-18 March. Prime Minister Abhisit received 249 votes in favor, 184 against and 11 abstentions while Deputy Prime Minister for Security Affairs Suthep Thaugsuban was given 249 votes in favor, 185 against and 13 abstentions.

Other Democrat ministers grilled during the debate are Finance Minister Korn Chatikavanij with a vote of 245-185, Minister to the Prime Minister’s Office Ongart Klampaiboon with a vote of 246-182, Foreign Minister Kasit Piromya with a vote of 247-188 and Information and Communication Technology Minister Chuti Krairiksh with a vote of 247-185.

The highest confidence vote of 251-186 went to Commerce Minister Pornthiva Nakasai while the lowest score of 243-188 was given to Deputy Agriculture and Cooperatives Minister Supachai Phosu. Interior Minister Chavarat Charnvirakul received 250-188 while Transport Minister Sopon Zarum got 248-188.