Flood eases in 16 out of 27 affected provinces


BANGKOK, 19 August 2011– According to the Department of Disaster Prevention and Mitigation (DDPM), the flood situation has eased in 16 provinces out of the total of 27 previously declared flood disaster zones. 

DDPM Director-General Wiboon Sanguanpong indicated that incessant rains had recently prompted 27 provinces to be designated flood disaster zones while a total of 32 lives had been claimed. Eight were killed in Phrae, seven in Mae Hong Son, five in Sukhothai, two each in Chiang Mai, Tak, Nakhon Phanom and Roi Et and one each in Phichit, Udon Thani, Sakon Nakhon and Uttaradit. One person is also missing in Mae Hong Son following a mudslide.

Even though the situation has improved in 16 provinces, more than 818,000 people in 11 other provinces remain troubled by the catastrophe. The areas comprise Sukhothai, Phichit, Phitsanulok, Kamphaeng Phet, Nakhon Sawan, Phetchabun, Nakhon Nayok, Ayutthaya, Roi Et, Kalasin and Ubon Ratchathani.

Initially, provincial DDPM officials are speedily distributing necessities, including boats and drinking water, to flood victims and are ready to visit the areas to assess damages. People affected by floods can seek assistance from the department via Hotline 1784.