Finance Minister named chairman of 2018 budget act vetting committee


BANGKOK, 10th June 2017  – The 2018 Budget Act Vetting Committee has named Apisak Tantivorawong its chairman. The committee is scheduled to meet on Monday.

Finance Minister Apisak Tantivorawong will chair the newly-formed committee responsible for vetting the draft 2018 Fiscal Budget Act which was approved in principle by the National Legislative Assembly (NLA) in its first reading on Thursday.

The committee also appointed Dechapiwat Na Songkhla its secretary, and Gen Chart-udom Tithasiri and Kitti Wasinondh its spokespersons.

The committee will meet each weekday, starting this Monday, June 12th.

The lawmakers on Thursday voted 216-0 with three abstentions to pass the 2018 Fiscal Budget Act which will enable the government to spend 2.9 trillion baht throughout fiscal 2018.