Fee for visa on arrival doubled to 2,000 baht as of Sept 27


Starting as of September 27, foreign tourists from 18 countries and one economic zone will be charged 2,000 baht instead of 1,000 baht if they apply for visas on arrival (VoA) at any of the 42 designated immigration checkpoints.


Tourists from the following countries are entitled to apply for VoA which will allow them to stay in the country up to 15 days. They include Andorra, Bulgaria, Bhutan, China, Cyprus, Ethiopia, India, Kazakhstan, Latvia, Lithuania, Maldives, Malta, Mauritius, Romania, San Marino, Saudi Arabia, Taiwan, Ukraine and Uzbekistan.

The 42 designated immigration checkpoints are: Suvarnabhumi airport, Don Mueang airport, Chiang Mai airport, Phuket airport, Hat Yai airport, U Tapao airport, Mae Sai immigration checkpoint, Chiang Saen checkpoint, Chiang Khong checkpoint, Betong checkpoint, Sadao checkpoint, Samui airport, Sukhothai airport, Bangkok harbor, Si Racha checkpoint, Mab Ta Put checkpoint, Nong Khai checkpoint, Samui checkpoint, Phuket checkpoint, Satun checkpoint, Krabi checkpoint, Songkhla harbor, Chiang Rai airport, Surat Thani airport, Sattahip harbor, Klong Yai checkpoint, Pong Nam Ron checkpoint, Aranyaprathet checkpoint, Muk Dahan checkpoint, Tak checkpoint, Padang Besar, Su-ngai Kolok, Nong Khai, Bueng Karn, Phibun Mangsaharn, Tha Li, Nakhon Phanom, Nan, Ban Prakob, Tak Bai and Bukit Tal.