Ex PM, four former ministers have not declared assets


BANGKOK, June 5 — Former prime minister Yingluck Shinawatra and four other former ministers have not made their assets declaration to the National Anti-Corruption Commission (NACC), after leaving office last month.

NACC Deputy Secretary-General Warawit Sukboon told journalists that the deadline for former premier Yingluck to make her assets declaration is 4.30pm today, 20 days after she left office, and she had so far not done so.

On May 7, Thailand’s Constitutional Court dismissed Ms Yingluck, saying that she had abused the power of her office in the case involving her order to transfer National Security Council (NSC) chief Thawil Pliensri to an inactive post in 2011.

Mr Warawit said the four others are former deputy prime minister Pracha Promnok, former deputy prime minister/finance minister Kittiratt Na Ranong, former deputy prime minister Plodprasop Suraswadi, and former minister attached to the prime minister’s office Santi Prompat.

The four former ministers left office when the National Council for Peace and Order (NCPO) seized administrative power from the caretaker government on May 22. Their deadline for assets declaration is June 20.

Mr Warawit said that if the former premier and ministers failed to declare their assets and debts before their deadline, they could send a letter to explain their reasons and the NACC would consider them.

When asked if the NACC can scrutinise assets and debts of NCPO members, Mr Worawit said the Corruption Prevention and Suppression Act BE 2542 has not required NCPO members to make such a declaration.