DSI seeking arrest warrants for 33 more protesters


BANGKOK, Jan 6 – The Criminal Court will be asked to issue arrest warrants for 33 political protesters, raising the number of suspects seen to be conspiring against the Yingluck Shinawatra government to 38, the Department of Special Investigation (DSI) announced today.

DSI chief Tarit Pengdith said investigation officials from DSI, Attorney General Office and National Police Bureau agreed that charges should be leveled against the 33 rank-and-file members of the People’s Democratic Reform Committee (PDRC).

The DSI earlier issued warrants to arrest five top PDRC leaders on insurrection charges but none of them reported to the authorities, reasoning that they were engaged in political demonstrations and New Year’s obligations.

Mr Tarit said the 38 suspects have increasingly violated the law and plan to paralyse Bangkok on Jan 13 — a move that will negatively impact Thailand’s economic and social stability.

He said investigation officials will lodge complaints with the court tomorrow and request warrants to arrest the 33 protest leaders.

Another group of 15 protesters who recently went on stage will also be summoned to acknowledge charges against them, he said. He described them as the third group of protest leaders.

Mr Tarit said the DSI has also asked the court to revoke bail for nine PDRC members who previously joined the People’s Alliance for Democracy or the Yellow Shirt movement in paralysing Suvarnabhumi airport.

Their temporary freedom should be suspended since they have repeatedly committed offences, he said.

The DSI has not yet received clear details on the 33 suspects’ wrongdoing, but the court would be told of their behaviour and speeches on stage as well as their planned attempt to seize Bangkok and cut power as well as water supplies at government properties.

The 33 PDRC members include Sathit Wongnongtoey, Chumpol Chullasai, Phuttipong Punnakanta, Issara Somchai, Witthaya Kaewparadai, Thaworn Senneam, Nattapol Theepsuwan, Akanat Promphan, Anchalee Paireerak, Samdin Lertbut, Preecha Iamsupan, Somkiat Pongpaiboon, Yossak Kosaiyakanond, Supawat Supiyapanich, Somboon Thongburan, Chitpas Kridakorn, Sathit Pitutecha, Sakolthee Pattiyakul,Thospol Pengsom, Sombat Thamrongthanyawong, Kaewsan Atipothi, Chirmsak Pinthong, Seri Wongmontha, Kittisak Prokati, Thanom Onketpol, Chanwit Vipusiri, Paiboon Nititawan, Pathompong Kesornsuk, Suriyasai Katasila, Pipob Thongchai, Boonyod Suktinthai, Ong-art Klampaiboon and Picharn Sukparangsi.

Five core protesters for whom the DSI sent out arrest warrants are Suthep Thaugsuban, Pichit Chaimongkol, Ratchyuth Sirayothingpakdi or Amorn Amornrattananond, Nitithorn Lamlua and Uthai Yodmanee.