DDPM: 9 provinces affected by drought


BANGKOK, 9 February 2014 The Department of Disaster Prevention and Mitigation has reported that 9 provinces are experiencing droughts. 

According to the Department of Disaster Prevention and Mitigation, 9 provinces have been declared drought-disaster areas. The 9 provinces include: Uttaradit and Sukhothai in the northern region; Buriram, Mahasarakham, Khon Kaen, and Sisaket in the northeastern region; Sing Buri in the central region; and Chachoengsao and Chanthaburi in the eastern region.

There is reportedly a combined total of about 47 billion cubic meters of water left in large reservoirs throughout the nation, about 67% of total capacity; roughly 2,7 billion cubic meters more than what it had in 2013. Authorities have since November 1, 2013 collected 4.9 billion cubic and released 9.3 billion cubic meters of water.

The Department has also reported that 45 provinces have been affected by the cold weather, 17 of which are in the northern region, 20 in the northeastern region, 7 in the central region, and 1 in the eastern region.