Court rules today on warrants for arrest of 19 protesters


BANGKOK, Jan 31 – The Criminal Court will decide today on whether a request to issue arrest warrants for 19 protest leaders including former Surat Thani MP Suthep Thaugsuban will be permitted.

The Department of Special Investigation (DSI) yesterday resubmitted its request after the court rejected it on Tuesday due to insufficient evidence.

The DSI earlier sought the court’s permission to issue arrest warrants for 16 protesters of the People’s Democratic Reform Committee (PDRC) but it added three more persons yesterday.

Eighteen other protesters on the “wanted list” are Satit Wongnhongtaey, Chumpol Julasai, Puttipong Punnakan, Issara Somchai, Witthaya Kaewparadai, Thaworn Senneam, Natthapon Theepsuwan, Akanat Promphan, Anchalee Paireerak, Nitithorn Lamlua, Uthai Yodmanee, Saemdin Lertbut, Gen Preecha Iamsuphan, Ratchayut Sirayothinpakdi or Amorn Amornratananont, Kittichai Saisa-ard, Samran Rodphet, Sonthiyan Chuenrithainaitham and Pansuwan Na Kaew.

The DSI charged them with violating Articles 11 (1) and 12 of the Emergency Decree.

Yuthana Phraedam, DSI special case expert, said investigative officials have added three more protesters in the arrest warrant request and prepared two more boxes of documents to substantiate allegations against Mr Suthep and other protesters for attempting to disrupt Sunday’s elections.

He said 22 government officials will be available to testify in court.