Raivo rules at Emerald


The IPGC Monthly Members’ Tournament

The IPGC members visited Emerald in Ban Chang on Wednesday, 7th December, for the December Members’ Tournament.  The pleasant and more comfortable golfing conditions made for a fine day at the popular venue and the largest field for a few months celebrated the occasion in fine style. 

Each monthly members’ tournament will provide winners in both divisions who will go forward to the finals to compete for the Gold and Silver Medals later in the season.  In addition the tournaments will also be used to determine the IPGC Gentleman Player of the Year, with between 1 and 15 points to be won in each division every month, dependant on final positions, which will then be aggregated for the year to establish the overall winner.

The December IPGC Medal winners: Theresa Connolly, Raivo Velsberg and Mike Lewis. The December IPGC Medal winners: Theresa Connolly, Raivo Velsberg and Mike Lewis.

As usual the first division contests a stroke play format whilst the second division plays Stableford.  With the Sweep vouchers standing at a guaranteed 5K for both divisions each month and the splendid “non winners’” draw at the presentation, the event is one of the most attractive competition days on Pattaya’s heavy golfing agenda.

In the first division Gary Barling, playing off nine, finished third with net 74, a couple of missed putts behind the second placed golfer John Batty, off a similar handicap.  The flight winner was Raivo Velsberg with the only sub-par round in the medal flight of net 71.

The second division played the usual stableford format and things were again very tight for all the major places as last month’s flight winner, Larry Slattery lost on a three-way count back to finish third with 39 points.  In second with the same score was Rodney Hayes, just making the second flight with his thirteen handicap, leaving the winner’s smile to Mike Lewis whose twenty-one points on the back nine just pipped the twenty and nineteen of the other two.

The Ladies’ flight was won by Theresa Connolly with 37 points, with Rotjana Neal three points behind in second.

There were three birdie ‘2’s, the winners being Chris Voller, Chris Walsh and Ken Grimes.

After the tournament the golfers enjoyed an excellent presentation buffet at the comfortable “Links Bar”, in Soi Buakhao, and the lucky draw for golf gear rounded off the fun of the day.

The presentation and prizes were generously sponsored as always by the IPGC, and those who had contributed to the success of the day were warmly thanked.  The official prize-winners are listed here but the full list of results can be seen on the excellent official IPGC website at http://www.ipgc.org

Division 1

1st Raivo Velsberg (8) net 71

2nd Jon Batty (9) net 72

3rd Gary Barling (9) net 74

Division 2

1st Mike Lewis (21) 39pts

2nd Rodney Hayes (20) 39pts

3rd Larry Slattery (19) 39pts


1st Theresa Connolly 37pts

2nd Rotjana Neal 34pts