Quality golf from Lamond


September IPGC Monthly Members’ Tournament

On Wednesday, 7th September, the IPGC members gathered at Pattana for the September Members’ Tournament.  The selection of the B and C nines was to offer a stern challenge to all golfers with the traditionally soft fairways yielding little or no run and the greens on the back nine, now being maintained by a sub-contractor and not the regular club greens staff, were less receptive and a lot slicker.

Each monthly member’ tournament will provide winners in both divisions who will go forward to the finals to compete for the Gold and Silver Medals later in the season.  In addition the tournaments will also be used to determine the IPGC Gentleman Player of the Year, with between 1 and 15 points to be won in each division every month, dependant on final positions, which will then be aggregated for the year to establish the overall winner.  As usual the first division contests a stroke play format whilst the second division play stableford.

All smiles from divisional winners at Pattana, Mark Armstrong and Rob Lamond All smiles from divisional winners at Pattana, Mark Armstrong and Rob Lamond

In the first division Barry Wellings finished third with net 74, a couple of missed putts behind runner-up Alan Hanlon whose net 71 was one of only two sub-par rounds of the day.  The August medal runner-up Rob Lamond found his game on form and he posted the best gross figures of the competition with his 77 giving him net 70 for a fine win.

The second division played stableford and things were very tight again as Benny Hansen took second on count back leaving Paul Davies in third on 31 points, the latter having fared only one point worse on the back nine.  The divisional winner was Mark Armstrong who took the day by one point with his 32 point return.

In the ‘2’s competitions there were birdies for Burnie Sinclair, lady golfer Orawan Meeraka and Russell Exley.

After the tournament the golfers enjoyed an excellent presentation buffet at the Links Bar in Soi Buakhao, and the lucky draw gave everyone present a share of the fun of the day.  The presentation and prizes were generously sponsored as always by the IPGC, and those who had contributed to the success of the day were warmly thanked.

The official prize-winners are listed below but the full list of results can be seen on the excellent official IPGC website at http://www.ipgc.org.

Division 1

1st Robert Lamond (7) net 70

2nd Alan Hanlon (12) net 71

3rd Barry Wellings (5) net 74

Division 2

1st Mark Armstrong (21) 32pts

2nd Benny Hansen (27) 31pts

3rd Paul Davies (17) 31pts

2’s:  Burnie Sinclair, Orawan Meeraka, Russell Exley.