Orn captures annual deVere trophy


PSC Golf from The Billabong Golf Society

Monday, March 23, Mt. Shadow – Stableford

We were at Mountain Shadow for the first time in ages and the course was in good condition with just a few bare patches here and there, but you have to expect that at this time of the year.

It was a small field so we went down to third prize and Lloyd Shuttleworth got the nod for that position with 34 points.  Second place went to Liz Collier and her first time on the podium with 37 points while Thip took the top prize with a fine score of 38 points.

Jittina ‘Orn’ Tinpranee (left) receives the deVere overall winner’s trophy and shield from Brian Chapman.Jittina ‘Orn’ Tinpranee (left) receives the deVere overall winner’s trophy and shield from Brian Chapman.

It must be noted that of 12 players only 4 people beat 30 points, it is one of the toughest golfing challenges we face in this area.

There was just the single ‘2’, coming from Wayne Cotterell.

Wednesday, March 25, Green Valley – deVere trophy

Playing the annual deVere trophy at our usual venue of Green Valley with 12 teams out it made for quite a hectic for a start, but thanks to the starter and his staff we were all away on time.

The day turned out to be not only the sponsor’s annual day but also his birthday so that made the day a little bit more special.  Happy birthday Brian Chapman!  We also had a special welcome to Jade, the new General Manager of Windsor Park Golf Club on the outskirts of Bangkok with an invitation to come up and play there, so anyone interested just let me know and I will talk to Jade for you.

Graham Woollett (left) is presented with the March monthly deVere trophy by Brian Chapman.

The greens today were as slow as I have ever seen them.  Normally when you have a down grain putt at Green Valley you just tap the ball but not so today as you couldn’t get it to the hole.  Still, it was the same for everyone.

There were some terrible scores and some very good ones.  In 5th place was Nichawan Khiaophuang (Sa) with a fine 38 points but losing out in a three-way count back to John Mills in fourth and Saipin Woollett in third, also her first time on the podium.  Second place went to Wayne Cotterell with 39 points and taking top spot was Graham Woollett with a great 40 points. a good round mate.

The overall winner of the deVere annual trophy which will be engraved on the shield was none other than Jittina Tinpranee (Orn).  Well done Orn.  The girls did a little trick as they do on the LPGA with a few pints of water going all over her and they got the birthday boy as well.

Friday’s team scramble winners, Bob Philp, George Barrie, Paul Greenaway and Phil Elliott.Friday’s team scramble winners, Bob Philp, George Barrie, Paul Greenaway and Phil Elliott.

Today’s winner, Graham Woollett, will go into the next yearly tournament and the overall winner qualifies also for the next big one.

It was a great day out with Brian Chapman our major sponsor from the deVere group going around on a cart taking photos of the various groups which will go into an album at the bar.  Thank you once again Brian for your support and sponsorship you made it a great day out.

There were four twos coming from Owie, Robbie Taylor, William Macey and Rod Black.

Friday, March 27, Plutaluang – Team Scramble

A big day out at the Navy course today with 15 groups playing our monthly scramble.  We got away early with a two-tee start on the North and East nines and were around in just on 4 and a half hours.  The course was in good condition but some of the greens were undergoing some repair work, no complaints it has to be done sometime.

As is usual, it all comes down to the putting in these competitions, if the putts drop you will normally win.  The Players Lounge were the ones to beat as they had won the last three times, and even with Jim Bell away in Australia they called in a secret weapon replacement in the form of Simon Philbrook.

The prizes went down to 4th place with that being taken by Brian Maddox, Willem Lasonder, Jonathon Pratt and George Gamble, with a net score of 60.3.  Third place went to Team Compton consisting of Steve Compton, Hans Lemstra, Andrew Woodall and Mike O’Brian with a net score of 59.1 while in second were the aforementioned Players Lounge quartet of Bob Newell, Paul Bourke, Paul Hack and Simon Philbrook with a net score of 59.

It was the home Billabong team of Paul Greenaway, George Barrie, Phil Elliott and Bob Philp taking line honours today with a net score of 58.3 and the subsequent bell ring was appreciated by all. Thanks to all the people who support this tournament each month it certainly has become very popular and it is grand to see so many smiling faces.  See you next month on the 24th April.

Note: The Billabong is situated just off Siam Country Club Road looking straight down Lake Mabprachan.  If you are looking for a game give Bob a call on 082 204 3411.