Newell takes Low Gross honours at 131st PSC Monthly


The choice of Plutaluang (the Navy Course) by Golf Chairman Joe Mooneyham for February’s monthly PSC tournament on Friday 28th was a popular one for all 99 players (including 14 ladies) playing the North and West 9’s on a perfect day for golf.  It was not too hot with a slight breeze blowing and the groups got around the excellently presented course in a little over 4 hours.

Joe Mooneyham and Nigel Cannon arrived early to place the necessary markers on the course and to prepare for registration.  All players arrived well in time for the 2-tee start at 0930 with speedy booking in by the Plutaluang staff.

February’s winners pose for a group photo.February’s winners pose for a group photo.

Low Gross winner this month was Bob Newell (H/cap 9), coming in with a fine gross of 75 and winning on count-back over Ken Aihara and Ian Heddle.

The A Flight, playing stroke play from the white tees, saw Ken Aihara (4) take top spot with a net 71 while in the B Flight, also playing from the white tees but in stableford format, the ever-consistent Mashi Kaneta (15) placed first with 38 points.

The best stableford score of the day came in ‘C’ Flight off the yellow tees by Mick Beresford (19) with a fine 41 points.

The D Flight winner was John Hartigan (21) with 39 points and leading the Ladies Flight was Duangden Butpanya (15) with 38.  The Senior winner from silver tees was Tom Breslin (26) with 37 points.

Dicey Riley’s was the venue for the buffet and presentation with many of the day’s players enjoying the regular buffet with some ‘happy hour’ prices.

At presentation time Nigel welcomed all to this, the 131st monthly PSC tournament, and introduced Golf Chairman Joe Mooneyham who expressed his appreciation to all of the day’s competitors and particularly to Nigel, William, and Noy for their help and the PSC office staff who do the preparatory work for the competitions.

Joe announced details of the next competition which is the PSC major fund raiser of the year – The ‘Charity Classic’ at Burapha on Friday 21st March.  It will be a two-person scramble with a shotgun start at 12 noon.  There will be prizes for the top 10 teams and technical prizes on all 18 holes for the varying flights.  In addition there will be a raffle, a 60/40 lucky draw with a wide selection of great prizes, many donated by major sponsors Singha and the EGA.

Mike of Burapha has kindly agreed that on this special day members may walk the course if they choose.  The competition will be followed by the buffet and presentation in the Burapha Clubhouse.

For more information, go to

Low Gross champ Bob Newell.Low Gross champ Bob Newell.

Ken Aihara – ‘A’ flight winner.Ken Aihara – ‘A’ flight winner.

Mashi Kaneta – ‘B’ flight winner.Mashi Kaneta – ‘B’ flight winner.

Senior champ Tom Breslin.Senior champ Tom Breslin.

Mick Beresford - ‘C’ flight winner.Mick Beresford – ‘C’ flight winner.

Khun Chu (left) – a Near pin winner.Khun Chu (left) – a Near pin winner.