Murphy in the groove


The Tara Court Golf Society

Sunday, Jan. 21, Silky Oak – Stableford

1st Joe McArdle (16) 40pts

2nd Kevin O’Sullivan (16) 38pts

3rd Sean McNamara (13) 30pts

4th Russell Gilroy (17) 29pts

We had a smaller group today at Silky Oak but those who played were very pleased with the course which was in excellent condition.

We had only one flight and for the first time in a long time the winner was Joe McArdle who had an excellent forty points.  In second place was Kevin O’Sullivan who kept on snapping at Joe’s heels all the way to the end while Sean McNamara, who was playing his last game with us for this trip, didn’t go home empty handed as he came a distant third.  Russell Gilroy got the fourth and last place with twenty nine points and we had no ‘2’s here today.

Sunday, Jan.  21, Green Valley – Stableford

A Flight was won by Stuart Brown who had thirty seven points while second place went to Mark Kobrin on count-back over Andy Featherstone and Paul Bray, all with thirty-five points.

Peter Henshaw won the B Flight with an even par thirty six points and to make it an even better payday Peter also had a ‘2’.  We had a count-back on thirty one points to decide the next podium places, with Pat Carty, Brian Lalor and Joe Peters finishing in that order.

Tuesday, Jan. 23, Laem Chabang – Stableford

As the groups are getting to large for one course we brought our second group out here to Leam Chabang for a treat on this magnificent course while our other group went to Crystal Bay.

Ted Murphy.
Ted Murphy.

As the course was very busy and we had a late start it turned out a long day as we also had to take a break for rain, which is unusual for this time of year.  However it didn’t last too long but because of it and the fact that it had also rained there on the previous day it meant that the course was playing very long with absolutely no run on the ball.

We played the B and the difficult C nines and Ted Murphy made it look easy as he had his first win for this trip with an excellent thirty seven points.  We then had three players with thirty four points with Craig Robson winning the count-back to come second, Jerry McCarthy placed third and Jack Featherston was fourth. Paddy Naughton got the fifth and last place with twenty seven points and once again we had no ‘2’s.

Tuesday, Jan. 23, Crystal Bay – Stableford

We had 21 players tee up today but no-one played to their handicap although the conditions were fine.

Larry Eden returned 34 points to win A Flight while Mark Kobrin needing a count-back to take second ahead of Andy Featherstone, both with 33 points.

Tom Smith won the B Flight with 31 points, two up on John McGarry in second while Pat Carty was third with 27 points.

John McGarry added to his winnings by posting the only 2 of the day.

Thursday, Jan. 26, Eastern Star – Stableford

A Flight

1st Paddy Naughton (15) 33pts

2nd Paal Andersson (14) 32pts

3rd Andy Featherstone (4) 31pts

B Flight

1st Larry Eden (21) 33pts

2nd Glen Armitstead (17) 30pts

3rd Ken Hole (17) 29pts

C Flight

1st Joe Peters (25) 34pts

2nd Pat Carty (24) 27pts

3rd Elsa Lalor (29) 27pts

2’s: Mark Kobrin

The course was very busy today and although there was a Korean five-ball in front of us playing off the blue tees, we still got round in a little over four hours.  The course was also in excellent condition.

Because of the large number we had out we had three flights today with the cut for the A flight coming in at sixteen.  This was won by Paddy Naughton who is on a run at the moment and Paddy had thirty three points.  Paal Andersson was playing his last game for this trip and he came second with thirty two and Andy Featherstone came third with thirty one.

The cut for the B flight was twenty three and here Larry Eden was the winner with thirty three points, Glen Armitstead was second with thirty and Ken Hole was surprised to hear that he came third with twenty nine.

We had the best score of the day in the C flight and this was won by Joe Peters with thirty four points.  We had a count-back for second and third place which was won by Pat Carty with twenty seven points and Elsa Lalor had to settle for third.  Actually the big winner of the day was Mark Kobrin as he had the only ‘2’ of the day and with such a large group he won by far the most money.