Mountain Shadow takes no prisoners


Jomtien Golf with the IPGC

Monday, Feb. 7, Mt. Shadow – Stableford

A smaller field than normal today with just 29 out, probably due to the harshness of the pin placements one month ago here and there were quite a few who cancelled, but today it was still a great test of golf for everyone.

This was yet again reflected in the scores coming in and the best of the day was in division 2 with William Chang winning with 34 points after beating Paul Chabot on a 18/17 count-back.  Mike Fitzgerald took third place after edging Tony Holehouse 14/10 on the back nine after they both tied with 31 points.

The victorious boys from Jomtien Golf pose for a photo after defeating the Backyard Golf Society at Emerald. The victorious boys from Jomtien Golf pose for a photo after defeating the Backyard Golf Society at Emerald.

Playing off 13 and with two four putts on the round, Timo Ahvenainen won division 1 with 31 points, beating Billy Hewitt on a 18/14 count-back.  There was a scratch player out today and two five handicappers who didn’t come into the reckoning in this division, as Kari Kuparainen took third with 29 points.

Ingrid Egeskog was the victor in the ladies division with 28 points.

Near pins went to Timo Ahvenainen, Geoff Stubbs, Dave Wheeler, Jeff Hamilton, Tony Holehouse, Muller and Tony Holehouse.

Dave Wheeler birdied the 15th for the only ‘2’ in division 1 and in division 2 Les Utting won the pot after a ‘2’ on the 17th.

Wednesday, Feb. 9, Pattaya C.C. – Stableford

Our first visit here in four months due to reports of the improvement of the course and also the reasonable price today, and the round for the 11 groups was enjoyed by everyone.  It was slightly cloudy throughout the day and with a cool breeze it was perfect.

The cut in the divisions was 3-14, 15-20 and 21+, and also the six ladies in a separate flight.

Alan Griffiths, playing off 11, recorded the best score of the day for the men, coming in with 40 points to beat Mike Combs by one, and Chris Voller edged Paul Smith, Wilf Latham and Martin Macateer 18/17/15/15 on the back nine to finish third after they all came in with 34 points.

Noi Emmerson also scored 40 to win the ladies division with the Frog’s other half Mam Morel second on 34.

Scoring 22 points on the back nine, Fred Duffy won division 3 with 39 points, with Mike Ftzgerald taking second three points behind, and John Williams was third after beating the much improved Paul Chabot 16/15 after they both shot 34.

Mam also birdied the 16th to win the ladies ‘2’s while Paul Butler, Alan Griffiths and Chris Voller split the division 1 pot and Mike Fitzgerald and John Williams shared division 2.

Near pins were claimed by Mod Churiaska, Noi Emmerson, Mam Morel (2), Alan Griffiths, Wilf Latham, Peter Pedder, Harry Vincenzi, Mike Fitzgerald, Tom Novak and John Williams (2).

Friday, Feb. 11, Eastern Star – Stableford

There were twelve of our players fighting the Backyard boys in the final of the match-play contest at the Emerald today (see Backyard report), so we were down to 37 men and four ladies.

Back from one of the Russian republics for five weeks, Tom Novak, playing off 24, won division 3 with 40 points, while Paul Chabot beat John Connolly 7/5 on count-back for second on the back three holes after they both scored 36 points, 17 on the back nine and 12 on the back six.

Marty Rock, now playing off 11, won the premier division with 39 points, with Paul Butler second one point behind and Timo Ahvenainen in third with 37.

Yet again in the headlines was the Irish boy Cully Monks who took out division 2 with a paltry 35 points and still refuses to ring the bell after all these weeks in the frame.  Dennis Scougall was second five points behind and Geoff Pickin came third on 29.

Playing her best golf for a long, long time, Herma Fitzgerald, now playing off 19, won the ladies division with 36 points.

Near pins today were picked up by Herma Fitzgerald (2), Timo Ahvenainen, Risto Hakkanen, Kari Kuparainen, Ya Riley and Glyn Evans.

Herma also birdied the 17th to win the ladies ‘2’s and Risto Hakkanen got the only one in division 1.