McArdle back in the winner’s circle


IPGC Golf from  The Tara Court

Sunday, Feb. 17, Mountain Shadow (blue tees) – Stableford

1st Joe McArdle (15) 35pts

2nd Denis O’Sullivan (16) 34pts

3rd Frank McGowan (16) 34pts

4th John Feterston (11) 33pts

5th Gerry Doyle (21) 33pts

2’s:  Michael Byrne.

It was Mountain Shadow again today for our usual Sunday outing.  Today we decided to travel in mini buses instead of cars and it proved a very popular decision as it saved a lot of people from the hassle of driving.  Again, when we got there, there was a problem with a lack of caddies but they soon sorted it out and we got off on our allotted time for a very enjoyable four hour round of golf.

Joe Mc ArdleJoe Mc Ardle

Reflecting the difficulty of the course off the blue tees nobody managed to play to their handicap, with 35pts being the best score of the day.  Joe McArdle had his first win with us and as he has been going through a bad spell with his golf recently it was good to see him back on the podium.

Joe was followed in second place by Denis O’Sullivan on his first visit with us and relegating Frank McGowan into third on a count back.  In fourth was John Fetherston who also beat Gerry Doyle on a count back.

Michael Byrne had the only 2 and scooped the pot.

Back in O’Garas Bar we said good bye to Terry and Liz Kelly, Gerry Doyle and John Walsh, all of whom are going back to sunny Ireland this week.

We did not have our usual Tuesday and Thursday outings this week, instead we joined up with our friends from Solar Golf for the annual Tara Court Cup in Burapha and St Andrews.  We are delighted to say that one of our regular golfers was victorious over the two days and won the much coveted trophy.  Well done Frank!

Note : The Tara Court Golf Group plays every Sunday, Tuesday and Thursday, leaving O’Gara’s Bar and Restaurant in the Tara Court on Pratannak  Rd around 10.00 a.m.  Sign up either in O’Gara’s or ring George on 087 540 0844 and he will book you in.

Ladies winner Pauline ByrneLadies winner Pauline Byrne

Frank McGowanFrank McGowan