Leif Kirkgaard wins Alec Chillcott Cup


PSC golf from Café Kronborg

Monday, Dec. 23, Plutaluang – Stableford

1st Leif Kirkgaard (17) 34pts

2nd Niels Hansen (14) 33pts

3rd Dave Richardson (27) 33pts

4th Freddy Townhill (0) 31pts

5th Richard Kubicki (11) 31pts

Near Pins:  E2 Richard Kubicki, E5 Freddy Townhill, S4 Jesper Rasmussen.

Long Putts:  E9 Leif Kirkgaard, S9 Niels Hansen

Today was the annual Christmas fayre started by long time golf chairman Alec Chillcott a number of years ago, the concept being the entry for the day is a gift wrapped present related to golf, all of which are placed on a table and the best score has the first pick and so on until the last place is left with the one remaining item.

Dave Richardson (left) presents the Alec Chillcott Cup to Leif Kirkgaard.Dave Richardson (left) presents the Alec Chillcott Cup to Leif Kirkgaard.

We had just one flight with the format being stableford and we wish to thank the PSC for providing the trophy as always.

We got off the first tee 25 minutes early in very sunny conditions and with a nice breeze blowing.  The course was in fine condition with quick greens but it was quite busy and took us the best part of 4 hours and 50 minutes to get around.

Back at the clubhouse welcomes went out to Chen Tang from Malaysia, Freddie Townhill and Kathe Broendum from Denmark.

Leif Kirkgaard got the pick of the lot with his 34 point card which was one better than the efforts of Niels Hansen in second and Dave Richardson third.  Freddie Townhill edged Richard Kubicki for fourth on count back, both on 31 points.

Thursday, Dec. 26, Pleasant Valley – Stableford

A Flight (0-17)

1st Ken Aihara (4) 39pts

2nd Roy Ono (15) 38pts

3rd Mashi Kaneta (13) 37pts

4th Leif Kirkgaard (17) 36pts

B Flight (18+)

1st Elias Magnusson (21) 38pts

2nd Jack Robertson (26) 36pts

3rd Jesper Rasmussen (20) 35pts

4th Dave Richardson (27) 35pts

Near Pins:  #8 Elias Magnusson, #17 Roy Ono.

Long Putts:  #9 Tate Akifumi, #18 Elias Magnusson.

We got off the first tee at Pleasant Valley 5 minutes late as the course was very busy.  The weather conditions were calm but the wind came up as we made the turn causing most golfers to leave a set of wheels on the 10th tee.

The course was in good condition with fairly quick greens and we managed to get around in 4 hours and 30 minutes, even though we had a local 6-ball in front, each in a cart, all the way around.

Back in the clubhouse welcomes went out to Ken Aihara and Roy Ono from Japan and a goodbye to Robin Flint, going on a dive trip to Boracay.

We had two flights with the cut at handicap 17 and 4 near pins to go for.

Ken Aihara had the best score of the day, taking the A Flight with 39 points.  Roy Ono placed second with 38 and Mashi Kaneta and Leif Kirkgaard filled the minor places.

Elias Magnusson topped the B Flight with 38 points ahead of Jack Robertson in second, while Jesper Rasmussen took third on a count back over Dave Richardson.