Golfers take the fight to Mountain Shadow at PSC Monthly


Friday, November 18 – Mountain Shadow

The one hundred and seven PSC members who played in this month’s competition, the 111th edition, made their way to Mountain Shadow to be greeted by Golf Chairman Joe Mooneyham and Social Chairman Nigel Cannon for registration prior to starting their rounds on a great course, and thanks to sensible management the course was ‘ours’.

Mountain Shadow has always been a challenging course, however many today met that challenge head on.  Jon Dean (H/cap 10) came in with the low gross of 77 to take the first prize.

The flight winners at the 111th PSC monthly golf tournament.The flight winners at the 111th PSC monthly golf tournament.

In the ‘A’ Flight – playing stroke play from the blue tees – it was tight at the top with Steve Snelgrove (5) and Mike Morris (11) both having net 74’s with Steve getting the nod on count back, while Jeff Wylie (5) was a creditable third with net 75.

In the Stableford flights all the winners beat their handicap; ‘B’ Mashi Kaneta (13) 39 points, ‘C’ Gerry Hughes (21) 42 points and ‘D’ Mick O’Connor (22) 44 points.

Mike & Ning - happy to be here!Mike & Ning – happy to be here!

Just 8 Ladies played today and 5 of them won a prize!  Barbro Spets (29) led the Ladies Flight with 34 points and the runner-up just a point back was Ning Morris (17) with 33.

All rounds were completed in a little over 4 hours and whilst Joe, Bob and Nigel checked the cards it was time a shower before returning to Pattaya.

At Lewiinski’s once again the buffet was excellent with service to match.  Prior to the presentation Golf Chairman Joe Mooneyham expressed his appreciation to all of today’s competitors.

On to the presentation of the prizes announced as usual by Nigel Cannon – followed by the ‘lucky draw’ where many were lucky.  However one very lucky man was Brian Gabe who had his number drawn by Joe to win the 50/50 draw.

The 112th PSC tournament will be held at The Emerald Golf Course on Friday 16th December – sign-up at the PSC Clubhouse.

Low Gross

1st John Dean (10) 77

A Flight

1st Steve Snelgrove (5) net 74

2nd Mike Morris (11) net 74

3rd Jeff Wylie (5) net 75

B Flight

1st Mashie Kaneta (13) 39pts

2nd Matt Doyle (14) 37pts

3rd Reg McKay (14) 36pts

C Flight

1st Gerry Hughes (21) 42pts

2nd Jim Federspiel (18) 39pts

3rd Gary Emmett (17) 35pts

D Flight

1st Mick O’Connor (22) 44pts

2nd John Sheppard (25) 37pts

3rd Bob Linborg (22) 37pts


1st Barbro Spets (29) 34pts

2nd Ning Morris (17) 33pts

Near Pins: (Men) Jeff Wylie (2), Brad Spoxton, Pierre Bietry, Ivan Plunkett (2), Karsten Kristensen, Reg McKay, Staffan Lyrestam, Jimmy Fraser, Tore Eliassen, John Walsh, Dave Richardson, Cliff Wenzel, Brian Gabe, Tony Geeland. (Ladies) Bibbi Wimmerstedt, Ning Morris

Long Drives: (Men) Jon Dean, Reg McKay, Ken Bernek, William Major. (Ladies) Noi Emmerson.

Brian Gabe (left) was glad he bought a ticket as he accepts the 50/50 prize from PSC Golf Chairman, Joe Mooneyham.Brian Gabe (left) was glad he bought a ticket as he accepts the 50/50 prize from PSC Golf Chairman, Joe Mooneyham.

Sim & Paul keep an eye on Colin.Sim & Paul keep an eye on Colin.

Barbro, “I did it!”Barbro, “I did it!”

“Cheers PSC!”“Cheers PSC!”