Forty pointers prevail at Green Valley


Jomtien Golf with the IPGC

Monday, Nov. 27, Green Valley – Stableford

Forty-six players turned out for our fourth annual club championship which was a 36-hole stableford competition over two days at Green Valley with an individual four divisional contest  on each day as well.

Noi Emmerson won the Ladies division with 33 points while Paul Smith took out the premier Men’s flight with 36 points, Mikael Andersson beating Peter Seward on a 21/16 count-back for second after they both finished with 35.

 Club Championship prize winners: Peter Grant, Les Smith and Kari Aarnio. Club Championship prize winners: Peter Grant, Les Smith and Kari Aarnio.

In the second division Kari Aarnio’s 37 points was enough for the win ahead of Cully Monks in second on 35 and in third place with 34 was Charlie Shepherd.

The highest score of the day was in Division 3 with Alan Bissell winning with 38 points.  Peter Grant beat Les Smith on a 11/10 back 6 count-back for the runner up spot after they both scored 35 points.

There were six ‘2’s Division 1 from Arvo Hiller, Kari Kuparinen, Ya Riley, Peter Seward and Gert Velsberg (2) but none in the second tier

Near pin winners were Paul Butler, Arvo Hiller, Ya Riley, Kasuo Takimoto, William Chang, Andy Crabb,Peter Grant and Richard Palmer.

Wednesday, Nov. 24, Green Valley – Stableford

There were a few more higher scores being returned today than of Monday with 40 points winning Division 3 for Les Smith, who beat Peter Grant on a 13/11 back 6 count-back.  Burnie Sinclair was third with 37.

Another 40 points won Division 2 for Ben Findon, with Andy Baber second on 38 and Mike Lewis in third after beating Kari Aarnio and Frank Kelly on a back nine count-back, all on 37 points.

Paul Smith was the winner in Division 1 with 37 points, with Mikael Andersson second after beating Georges Faber on a count-back after they both scored 35 points.

Miss Noi scored 39 points to win the Ladies competition for the comp in succession.

There were no ‘2’s in Division 1 but Terry Cowell birdied the 16th to win the purse in Division 2.

Near pins went to Paul Smith (2), Gert Velsberg, Chris Voller, Terry Cowell, Fred Duffy, Mike Lewis and Terry Redding.

Nearest to the pin in three shots on the third hole was won by Raivo Velsberg (Div. 1) and Les Smith (Div. 2).  Longest drive on the 11th went to Kari Kuparinen and Cully Monks.

The overall winner and the Club Champion of 2010 is Les Smith who scored 75 points, beating Peter Grant on a 13/11 back six count-back on the last round.  Kari Aarnio was third with 74.

There was a free buffet afterwards at Siam Cats for all golfers and partners provided from the rollover kitty and Faa and Olaf, many thanks.

Friday, Nov. 26, Eastern Star – Stableford

There were 44 players out today on another very hot with hardly any breeze at all.

After her win last week with 33 points, Teresa Connolly shot 41 today to win the Ladies division once more.

Teddy Lodge took out Division 1 with 35 points while Charlie Lapsley came second on 34 and in third place was Ya Riley, winning on count-back with 31 points.

artyn Arnold triumphed in Division 2, beating John Connolly and Sassa on a 19/17/14 count-back after they all scored 34 points.  Peter Grant was victorious in Division 3 by 8 points, beating Richard Kings with 30 and in third place with 29 was Tony Holehouse.

Charlie Lapsley birdiesd the 17th for the only ‘2’ in Division 1 ,and in Division 2 Paul Chabot, Peter Grant and Alan  Blakie shared the pot.

Near pins werec claimed by Joe McArdle, Frank McGowan, Peter Pedder and Ya Riley, Alan Blakie, Peter Grant,  Cully Monks and Valentina Hiller


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here