Brown continues top form

Rob Brown (left) and Gordon Clegg (right) with Dave Richardson.
Rob Brown (left) and Gordon Clegg (right) with Dave Richardson.

PSC Golf from Café Kronborg

Monday, Jan. 22, Greenwood – Stableford

A Flight (0-21)

1st Rob Brown (9) 40pts

2nd Brian Gabe (19) 37pts

3rd Peter Bygballe (20) 34pts

4th Richard Kubicki (15) 34pts

B Flight (22+)

1st Gordon Clegg (24) 37pts

2nd John Ostrom (23) 36pts

3rd Kurt Sandgaard (33) 35pts

4th Jan Lovgreen (24) 35pts

Near Pins: C3 Brian Gabe, C6 Henning Sorensen, A2 Torben Sorensen, A6 Richard Kubicki.

Long Putts: C9 Kjeld Ravn, A9 Jan Lovgreen.

Cafe Kronborg played at Greenwood on Monday, where the harder C & A courses were the challenge for the day.  The courses were in great condition with C greens running slightly slower than the A greens which were quite quick, especially on downhill putts.  Greenwood has some of the best greens around and they always run true, regardless of speed.

Tee off was on time and we played the harder C nine first.  The round went well with no undue delays despite it being very busy – the dreaded 5-balls had been banished to the other nines thankfully.  The cards showed that the course had played fair and you needed to be near to your handicap to have a chance of a prize.

The A Flight winner was Rob Brown with the best score of the day for the second consecutive round, a superb 40 points off his reduced 9 handicap, another round in the 70’s off the stick.  In second place was Brian Gabe with a solid 37 points, one of only 3 people to beat their handicap.  Third and fourth places were decided on count-back with 2 players having 34 points.  Peter Bygballe took third with 19 points on the back nine and Richard Kubicki took fourth with 16.

Gordon Clegg was the winner in B Flight with a solid 37 points, him finding a bit of form after his recent dramatic handicap reductions.  In second place was John Ostrom with 36 points, another good performance from John, while third and fourth places were again decided on count-back with 2 players locked on 35 points.  Kurt Sandgaard took the bronze with a back-nine of 21 points to Jan Lovgreen’s 16.