Another close call at Bangpra


IPGC Monthly Members’ Tournament

Wednesday, July 13 – Bangpra

A quality field of IPGC members gathered at Bangpra on Wednesday, 13th July for the latest IPGC Members’ Tournament of the year.  The course was very well presented and the ravages of the wet season had not prevented there being run on the fairways, as at neighbouring Khao Kheow.  A smooth-as-clockwork start and bright skies had the golfers in fine fettle as they began and a close encounter was anticipated

Each monthly member’s tournament provides three winners in the divisions and one from the ladies, who will go forward to the finals to compete for the Gold and Silver Medals later in the season.  In addition the tournaments will also be used to determine the IPGC Gentleman Player of the Year, with between 1 and 15 points to be won in each division every month, dependant on final positions, which will then be aggregated for the year to establish the overall winner.  As usual the first division contests a stroke play format whilst the second, third and Ladies’ division play Stableford.

Rodney Hayes shows off his IPGC Monthly Medal after finishing top in Division 1. Rodney Hayes shows off his IPGC Monthly Medal after finishing top in Division 1.

In the first division the competition was very close with only four shots gross covering the top three places and the handicaps were applied.  This left five handicapper Barry Wellings in third with net 75 whilst the count-back rule was needed to establish the major placing.  Japanese golfer Haruyuki Kato lost out with 39 on the back nine, ending with bogey, double bogey, but he still took a deserved second place on net 74 leaving Rodney Hayes in the driving seat, also on 74 net.

The second division played stableford and things were equally tight again as Peter Masters took third on count-back from Ronnie Ramsay with 31 points and Trevor Schirmer suffered similarly at the hands of Grant Cadell, winning on count-back with 33 points

The Third division was won by Adam Oyston with 38 points, again on count-back from Sid Ottaway, with John Mabry third on 36 points.

In the ‘2’s competitions there were only two birdies, with Steve Mascari and Yukio Kikuchi sharing the spoils.

After the tournament the golfers enjoyed the usual excellent presentation buffet at the Haven.  The function and prizes were generously sponsored as always by the IPGC, and those who had contributed to the success of the day were warmly thanked.  The official prize-winners are listed below but the full list of results can be seen on the excellent official IPGC website at

Division 1

1st Rodney Hayes net (10) net 74

2nd Harayuki Kato (8) net74

3rd Barry Wellings (5) net 75

Division 2

1st Grant Cadell (16) 33pts

2nd Trevor Schirmer (14) 33pts

3rd Peter Masters (13) 31pts

Division 3

1st Adam Oyston (21) 38pts

2nd Sid Ottaway (24) 38pts

3rd John Mabry (23) 36pts