Thai-Austria Society elects new board


Gottfried Auer of Chiang Mai was elected the ninth president of the Thai-Austrian Society at the 30-year-old organization’s annual general meeting in Bangkok.

Austrian Ambassador H.E. Enno Drofenik hosted the Jan. 25 meeting at his residence with 50 of 80 club members attending.

After a short welcome speech from the ambassador, outgoing President Vicky Thananan reviewed the history of the group, which was founded by former ambassador, Rudolf Bogner, and had eight presidents to date.

The new board members of TAS with HE Ambassador Enno Drofenik (2nd left), immediate past president Vicky Thananan (left), and new president Gottfried Auer (front middle) posing for the first official picture. (Photo by Gerhard Müller)

Newly elected Auer frequents Bangkok from the North to tend to his business.

Guntram Haas was elected vice president and Caroline Braunsdorfer as secretary-general.

Board members sleeted were Erich Erber, Michael Jensen, Werner Kubesch, Peter Lampl, Karl Heinz Munz, Tanachpong Jirarojtam, Elfi Seitz, Gary Szillich, Sopie Tanapura, Julia Tiefengraber and Harald Wagner.

After the election, a light meal buffet was offered to all and wine from Austria.