Pattaya mayoral, city council elections set for June 17


Pattaya residents will go to the polls June 17 to elect a new mayor and city council in elections that now split the city into four districts.

The city’s 109,037 eligible voters will vote for mayor and for the 24 Pattaya City Council seats in their respective districts.

Acting Pattaya Permanent Secretary Pakorn Sukhonthachat said the city’s growing population prompted the election commission this year to up the number of election districts from three to four.

The first region will cover from the Krathing Lai intersection towards Nong Plalai until Banglamung, on the eastern side across Sukhumvit. The second zone runs from Soi Potisan to central Pattaya across Sukhumvit Road towards Nongprue Road’s Soi Nernplabwan entrance.

The 3rd region starts from South Pattaya at Chaiyamongkol Temple toward the Eastern region heading to Moo 13 Nongprue in Soi Wat Thamsamakkee including all of Koh Larn. The fourth region includes parts of Soi Wat Thamsamakkee to Jomtien Beach.

Reminder: The law prohibiting the sale and distribution of alcoholic beverages will be in effect. This means that, by law, bars must be closed by 6:00 p.m. Saturday night, June 16 and remain closed until the election is declared over on Sunday, June 17. The “no alcohol rule” applies to all entertainment areas, including restaurants, although restaurants may remain open if they do not sell alcohol. It is also prohibited to give away free alcoholic beverages, even at private parties.