Snooker titans set to clash in PTT-EGAT Snooker World Cup


Thai snooker fans are in for a feast of top action when the world’s top-ranked players go head to head in the round robin section of the PTT-EGAT Snooker World Cup starting on Monday 11 July at Bangkok Convention Centre at Centara Grand.

The round robin schedule of play has just been released and Thailand 1’s first match will be a tough affair with James Wattana and Dechawat Poomjaeng taking on the Australian team of world #5 Neil Robertson and Steve Mifsud on Monday at 7 pm. The Thailand 2 team of Passakorn Sunwannawat and Thepchaiya Un-nooh will open the tournament with their match against Afghanistan starting at 1pm the same day.

The world’s top two players will both start their teams’ campaigns on Tuesday evening when #1 player Mark Williams of Wales will take on Egypt, and Scotland’s world #2 John Higgins will face off against the Polish team.

The English team featuring world #3 Mark Selby and #6 Allister Carter play their first match against Brazil on Tuesday 12 July, while they play sixth-seeded Northern Ireland on Friday evening.

Other highlights of the round robin stage of the tournament will include fourth-seeded China taking on Australia in the evening session on Thursday 14 July. That match will pit Ding Junhui against Neil Robertson.

The tournament features 20 two-man teams from countries including England, Scotland, China, Australia, Wales, India and Ireland. Thailand will field two teams in the competition.

Round robin matches will be played over five frames and will take place from Monday 11 July to Friday 15 July with day sessions starting at 1pm and evening sessions starting at 7pm. Two match tables will be in play for the round robin and ticket holders can watch matches on either table.

Quarter finals will be held on Saturday 16 July with semi finals and the final on Sunday 17 July. For the full schedule of play, and tickets, contact Thaiticketmajor outlets or call 02 262 3838 or log onto or

Countries and Players


1. Wales: Mark Williams (#1) and Matthew Stevens (#14)

2. Scotland: John Higgins (#2) and Stephen Maguire (#8)

3. England: Mark Selby (#3) and Alister Carter (#6)

4. China: Ding Junhui (#4) and Liang Wenbo (#30)

5. Australia: Neil Robertson (#5) and Steve Mifsud (Amateur)

6. Northern Ireland: Mark Allen (#12) and Gerard Greene (#32)

7. Hong Kong: Marco Fu (#23) and Fung Kwok Wai (Amateur)

8. Republic of Ireland: Ken Doherty (#29) and Fergal O’Brien (#37)

By alphabet

9. Afghanistan: Mohammad Rais Senzahi (Amateur) and Saleh Mohammad (Amateur)

10. Belgium: Bjorn Haneveer (#65) and Luca Brecel (Amateur)

11. Brazil: Igor Figuierado (#80) and Itaro Santos (Amateur)

12. Egypt: Wael Talat (Amateur) and Yasser Al-Sherbini (Amateur)

13. Germany: Patrick Einsle (Amateur) and Lasse Münstermann (Amateur)

14. India: Aditya Metha (Amateur) and Pankaj Advani (Amateur)

15. Malta: Tony Drago (#46) and Alex Borg (Amateur)

16. Pakistan: Sahid Aftab (Amateur) and Muhammad Sajjad (Amateur)

17. Poland: Kacper Filipiak (Amateur) and Krzysztof Wrobel (Amateur)

18. Thailand A: James Wattana (Rutchapol Pu-ob-orm) (#67) and Dechawat Poomjaeng (Amateur)

19. Thailand B: Passakorn Sunwannawat (Amateur) and Thepchaiya Un-nooh (Amateur)

20. UAE: Mohammed Mustafa Shehab (Amateur) and Mohammed Al Joaker (Amateur)