Close racing defines Royal Varuna Summer Regatta


The second edition of the Royal Varuna Summer Regatta attracted 38 boats from clubs along the Eastern Seaboard, allowing strong competitive action during a typically quiescent time of year.  New for 2015 was the later start on Friday afternoon with on-water action in beautiful twilight conditions.

Defying the majority of Thailand, the thunderstorm rain has kept well clear of Pattaya and that continued throughout the bank holiday weekend, July 31- Aug. 2, with pleasant sunshine and good winds.

Sailors pose for a group photo at the prize giving ceremony.Sailors pose for a group photo at the prize giving ceremony.

The racing started with a bang on Friday afternoon, Thailand Olympic hopefuls Damrongsak Vongtim and Nichapa Waiwai won their two races in the catamaran class, while Varuna’s Mark Tchelistcheff took the honours racing his Laser in the monohulll class.  Also, new to 2015 was a Laser 4.7 youth fleet where Miki Romanyk, and Aren Con, coming from Turkey to join the regatta, won the first two races respectively.

On Saturday morning the sailors were greeted with light winds.  Only one race was sailed before lunch, except in the junior Optimist class where their lack of boat speed couldn’t curtail the incoming flood tide.  Chris Dando demonstrated good light wind sailing in the monohull class to win the first race, John Simms sailing his single-handed F16 Viper overcame the previous day winners to take victory in the catamaran class, and Aren continued his good form in winning the next Laser 4.7 race.

Alex Romanyk was the winner in the Optimist Class.Alex Romanyk was the winner in the Optimist Class.

After a postponement over lunchtime, a 10–15 knot breeze came through in the afternoon allowing a further two races.  Damrongsak consolidated his lead in the catamaran class with an impressive two wins, Chris and Mark took one apiece in the monohull class, Laser 4.7 newcomer Win Lathavit overcame the strong opposition to win race 4, and Miki taking race number 6.  When racing finally got underway in the Optimist class, the two races in the afternoon were won by Phiranpat Sukontasub and Alex Romanyk.

Miki Romanyk receives his prize after winning the Laser 4.7 Class.Miki Romanyk receives his prize after winning the Laser 4.7 Class.

After a very short postponement on Sunday morning, a pleasant 12 knot breeze meant all classes could finish the series with good quality racing.  Damrongsak continued his excellent form and won all three races in the catamaran class, and Miki Romanyk did likewise in taking three bullets in the youth Laser 4.7.

A battle ensued between Mark Tchelistcheff and Chris Dando in the monohulls and despite neither getting their own way amongst the competitive fleet; Mark kept Chris at bay.  In the Optimists, wins were shared between Alex Romanyk, Jittapat Prowjanda and Ratthanan Rakmanee.

Overall Results
Catamaran Class
1st Damrongsak Vongtim & Nichapa Waiwai
2nd Jon Simms
3rd Kitsada Vongtim & Robert
Monohull Class
1st Mark Tchelistcheff
2nd Chris Dando
3rd Arnaud Uhrich
Laser 4.7 Class
1st Miki Romanyk
2nd Aren Con
3rd Win Lathavit
Optimist Class
1st Alex Romanyk
2nd Jittapat Prowjanda
3rd Ratthanan Rakmanee