Buckingham claims Chilcott Trophy

Graham Buckingham (left) with Dave Richardson.
Graham Buckingham (left) with Dave Richardson.

Café Kronborg Golf Society

Monday, Dec. 18, Pattavia – Stableford

A Flight (0-19)

1st Ulf Larsson (15) 37pts

2nd Akitoshi Ito (8) 34pts

3rd Mike Johns (13) 33pts

4th Brian Gabe (18) 32pts

B Flight (20+)

1st Gordon Clegg (25) 40pts

2nd Torben Sorensen (24) 33pts

3rd Svend Gaarde (28) 31pts

4th Dave Richardson (30) 30pts

Near Pins: Daryl Evans, Brian Gabe, Rob Brown.

Long Putts: Kenneth Madsen, Torben Sorensen.

Cafe Kronborg played at Pattavia on Monday where the course was in good shape, the greens being fast as usual and a cold northerly wind was blowing hard for most of the round.  Back in the clubhouse, cards showed a split in the group, half impressively scoring in the 30’s and half unsurprisingly not.

The A Flight winner was Ulf Larsson continuing his winning streak with a solid 37 points.  Second was Akitoshi Ito with 34 points, impressive considering his 8 handicap and the difficult conditions, he had 4 birdies and an additional moral birdie with his second ball off one tee. Third was Mike Johns with 33 while fourth place was decided on count-back; Brian Gabe winning with 14 points on the last 6 holes over Mashi Kaneta.

In B Flight Gordon Clegg had the score of the day with an amazing 40 points, this with an already significantly reduced handicap from a few weeks ago.  Torben Sorensen was second with a respectable 33 and Svend Gaarde third with 31.  Fourth place was decided on count-back with “The Admiral” Dave Richardson winning with 30 points and 7 of them on the last 3 holes.

Thursday, Dec. 21, Bangpakong – Stableford

1st Graham Buckingham (24) 38pts

2nd Richard Kubicki (14) 38pts

3rd Svend Gaarde (28) 37pts

4th Michele Sancillo (8) 35pts

5th Gordon Clegg (25) 34pts

Near Pins: Rob Brown, Carole Kubicki, Rob Brown, Gordon Clegg.

Long Putts: Ronnie Ratte, Gordon Clegg.

Cafe Kronborg played their Christmas Fayre at Bang­pakong on Thursday for the prized Alec Chilcott Trophy.  Everyone was a winner as the usual prizes were replaced by an entry fee of a wrapped golfing gift, with everyone picking a prize in the order of the results, a concept started by Alec, a former golf chairman.  Thanks to the PSC for providing the trophy.

The golf course, as always, was in good condition but the greens were tightly mown and that meant that putting was not easy.

Graham Buckingham was the winner on the day with a fine 38 points, beating Richard Kubicki on count-back, Graham having 14 points on the last 6 holes compared to 13 by Richard.  In third place was Svend Gaarde with 37 points on his last round of the season, Svend no doubt ruing a blob on the final hole.

In fourth spot was Michele Sancillo with 35 points and the low gross of the day.  Fifth place was decided on another count-back, Gordon Clegg being victorious over Daryl Evans, both having 34 points but Gordon having 8 points on the last 3 compared to Daryl’s 5.