Thai-Cambodian Acmecs visa to start tomorrow


Tourists from 35 countries will be able to enter Thailand and Cambodia by applying for just one entry visa at Thai or Cambodian embassies or consulates, starting from tomorrow onwards.

The agreement was reached as Thai foreign minister Surapong Tovichakchaikul and his Cambodian counterpart Hor Namhong met today at the 8th Thai-Cambodian Joint Commission for Bilateral Cooperation meeting in Bangkok.

The single visa, under the Ayeyawady-Chao Phraya Mekong Economic Cooperation Strategy (Acmecs), is similar to the European Union’s Schengen agreement. There are five Asean members in Acmecs comprising Thailand, Cambodia, Myanmar, Laos and Vietnam.

It is expected that other Acmecs members will follow Thailand and Cambodia later on after the operation has been proven successful.

Thailand and Cambodia will also improve road and rail transportation between the two nations for better connectivity and transfer of goods and services. Trade between the two countries this year rose by more than 2 billion US dollars, and the two sides agreed to maintain the growth.

In addition to related economic matters, Thailand and Cambodia agreed to enhance cooperation in labour management and the transfer of inmates.