Candidate registrations in 8 Southern provinces may be suspended for the second time


BANGKOK, 29 December 2013, The Election Commission (EC) has announced that registration for constituency-based candidates in 8 southern provinces might be cancelled again for the second time, as demonstrators continue to block the venues. 

According to EC Secretary General, Mr. Puchong Nutrawong, currently there are 8 provinces in the South that are unable to carry out the registration.

On December 28, the first day of registration of constituency-based candidates, 38 out of 56 constituencies in 15 Southern provinces were unable to register any candidate due to rallies being staged in front of the venues; which remain blocked today.

Those constituencies included 3 in Krabi, 3 in Chomphon, 4 in Trang, 9 in Nakhon Si Thammarat, 3 in Phatthalung, 2 in Phuket, 8 in Songkhla, and 6 in Surat Thani.

The EC has been trying to find a solution to the situation through a peaceful means; therefore, the suspension of registration in the areas is necessary at this time. However, the EC will have to continue the registration until January 1, 2014. For the provinces that cannot carry out the task, the EC will have to ponder how to deal with them, said the EC.