10 provinces declared cold spell disaster zones

Sunday, 22 December 2013 By  MCOT

BANGKOK, Dec 19 - Ten provinces have been declared as disaster zones hit by cold spell to speed up relief operations, according to the Disaster Prevention and Mitigation Department chief.

Director-general Chatchai Phromlert said the ten provinces are Loei, Tak, Nan, Chiang Mai, Nakhon Phanom, Nong Bua Lam Phu, Phrae, Chiang Rai, Uttaradit amd Sakhon Nakhon.

About 2.3 million people in 60 districts have been affected by the cooling temperatures.

Mr Chatchai said the North and Northeast will face cold snap for three to four days.

Meanwhile, the tourism industry in the North has become more lively as tourists flocked to see frost on Doi Inthanon, Thailand's highest mountain located in Chiang Mai where temperatures have dropped to as low as -1 degree Celsius.

The average temperature in the Chiang Mai provincial seat is about 11 degrees Celsius.

The northern meteorological centre reported that a rather strong high pressure cell still covers upper Thailand while another high pressure system from China will reach Thailand Saturday and Sunday. Cold weather continues until the New Year’s Day with average temperatures in the North at about 8-11 degrees Celsius.

In the northeastern province of Loei, about 300 tourists visit Phu Kradueng National Park daily to see the sunrise amid sea of fog.

The park has provided staff to lead tourist groups for their safety during their 2-kilometre walk to reach the scenic point which usually starts as early as 5am.

comments powered by Disqus
Terms of Service | Privacy Policy | Advertise With Us | About Us | Feedback | Contact Us